WANT TO LEARN TO DRIVE?

  • 6 Week Courses for Teens & Adults
  • Afternoons or Evenings
  • Point Reduction Classes 882-SHIFT

A License to Drive is a Privilege, Not a Right!

A license to drive a motor vehicle is not a person's right. It is a privilege that the State of New Hampshire gives to those persons who have shown that they can safely drive a motor vehicle. This privilege may be taken away at any time for many reasons after a hearing.

NH Youth Operator License
  • Any person 16 years of age or older and under 21 years of age will be issued a YOUTH OPERATOR license. All youth operator licenses will expire on the holders 21st birthday.
  • In addition to any other restrictions, the holder of a YOUTH OPERATOR license who is under the age of 18 shall not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.
  • During the first six months after issuance of the license, the holder shall not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger less than 25 years of age who is not a member of the holder's family unless accompanied by a licensed responsible adult who is at least 25 years of age.
  • Shall not operate a motor vehicle with more passengers than there are seat belts/safety restraints in a vehicle.
NH Practice Driving
  • An individual may practice driving of a non-commercial vehicle on New Hampshire roadways provided they have attained the age of 15 1/2, carry proof of age, and are accompanied on the front seat by a parent, legal guardian, or other licensed adult who is 25 years of age or older.
  • An individual under the age of 18 is required to complete 20 hours of supervised home practice driving, in addition to the 10 hours required by driver education. The 20 hours must be logged, and supervised by a parent or legal guardian (or if there is no parent or legal guardian, a licensed adult over the age of 25).
  • Motorcycle license applicants are exempt from the additional 20 hours of driving time, provided they successfully complete the Motorcycle Rider Education Course, offered by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
What to Bring to your NH Driver Test
  • All driver licenses issued to you by any state.
  • Two forms of positive identification: official papers which show your name, address, and date of birth (in most cases a photo license from another state and a birth certificate is acceptable).
  • A vehicle which is legally registered and inspected in New Hampshire and is in good running condition. The vehicle must be of the proper class for the type of license you are being tested for.
  • A licensed driver to drive the test vehicle for you to and from the testing site. That person should remain at the test site until the road test has been completed. (If you are properly licensed by another state you may drive yourself to the testing site.)
Original License Suspension
  • The Director, upon receiving proper application for an original driver's license, may in his discretion issue a license designated as an original, with such designation to be effective until the fifth anniversary of the license holder's date of birth following the date of issuance to allow such applicant to gain proper driving habits, attitudes and experience.
  • The director, after hearing, may suspend or revoke any such original license for good cause upon receipt of proper evidence or information of misconduct, misuse or abuse of such driving privileges. (RSA 263:14)
  • Please note that the authority noted above means that if you are under 20 years old and convicted of a motor vehicle violation, your license will be suspended. Your license will be suspended for 20 days first offense, 45 days second offense, and 90 days for a third or subsequent offense.