6 Temple St, Nashua NH 03060
Office Hours: M T W F, 2:30–5:00 PM
Email Us​  •  Call (603) 882-7443

Teaching Your Teenager is VERY DANGEROUS! (Start with an automatic transmission vehicle) and consider these tips:

  • Master starting & stopping, turning, & backing in an off-street area, before entering light traffic in a residential area.
  • Keep the speed low, under 25 mph! Be careful.
  • Ask yourself, "What if... ?" Expect the worst, it probably will happen.
  • Your new driver is inexperienced and will make mistakes.
  • Take no risks! Don't put yourself or your new driver in unnecessary danger.

© Copyright 2006–2020 Hampshire Driving School, LLC  All Rights Reserved

For parents of teen drivers:

The Parent's Supervised Driving Program

• Loses control in turns.
• Drifts out of lane.
• Drives too fast for conditions.
• Fails to signal or use mirrors.

• Always be ready to take control.
• Keep calm, voice low and slow:  
"OK, look ahead at the  ..."

​• Give clear directions early:   "Turn right before the red van." 
• Give a running dialogue of all events:  "Watch car on right, check mirror, 

    brake gradually. Stop!"

For teens applying for their license:

Parent or Guardian Authorization

Master These Skills in a Vacant Lot, Before Entering Traffic!

When you feel ready, discuss with your teenager the "Car Use Rules", before s/he gets their license.
 A useful aid in controlling car use is to have a "Parent/Teen Driving Agreement" or see the "New Driver Deal" courtesy of the National Safety Council. Discuss this contract with your teen and come to an agreement!

To find various useful parent teaching guides visit: DriverEd.com. We recommend the practice guides for the states: Maryland or Illinois.

DRIVING IS A PRIVILEGE, NOT A RIGHT! Your child does not have the right to the car keys and a car just because they are old enough! If you're not ready for your teenager to drive, DELAY driving for months or years.
*Note: Parental permission is required for teen licensing, and can be withdrawn until the age of 18.

  • An individual may practice driving of a non-commercial vehicle on New Hampshire roadways provided they have attained the age of 15 1/2, carry proof of age and are accompanied on the front seat by a parent, legal guardian, or other licensed adult who is 25 years of age or older.
  • An individual under the age of 18 is required to complete 40 hours of supervised practice driving before applying for a driver license. In addition to the 20 hours required by driver education, practice an additional 20 hours supervised by a parent or legal guardian (or if there is no parent or legal guardian, a licensed adult over the age of 25).
  • Try to stay calm.
  • Do not enter traffic until safe.
  • Always exercise caution.
  • Be prepared for the unexpected.

NH Practice Driving

NH Traffic Safety Administration:

Teen Driving 

  • Always wear safety belts.
  • Drive student to practice area.
  • Begin in an empty parking lot.
  • ​Get control before entering traffic.

First Drive Practice Plan

• May hit wrong pedals.
• Brakes hard

• Brakes late.
• Confuses left and right.

Parent's First Drive Tips

First Drive Expected Errors

​HAMPSHIRE​

DRIVING SCHOOL, LLC

Control Car Use After Teen Licensing