Learn to drive from professional driver education instructors.
Non-U.S. citizens temporarily residing in NH and Non-U.S. citizens without a valid driver's license from their home country, a Green Card, or an Employment Authorization Card must complete the Full Driver Education Course consisting of 30 hours of classroom instruction, 10 hours of in-car instruction and 6 hours of in-car observation.
The State of New Hampshire recommends having at least 40 hours of driving practice before getting your license. During driving practice, you must have proof of your age in the vehicle and be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years old.
We recommend practicing driving in a residential area, but stay in New Hampshire because other states have permit laws. We also recommend studying the New Hampshire Driver's Manual. The driver's manual is also available at a DMV sub-station.